for moms who are more.

tuesday: design, bookshelf progress.

last week my mother in law and bens nana were in town.

these two are thrifting queens; no really. nana has thrifted her entire life and is QUITE good at getting a bargain. they inspire me to thrift smart and thrift often.

so we went to world thrift. and i found two great first additions to my shakespeare and quote bookshelf in our dining room.

how fabulous is this old vintage fan?

and this green glass canister that was made in italy? i filled it with candy corn, because hey…tis’ the season. when thats all devoured (which wont take long), I’ll be filling it with incredibly smelling starbucks whole bean pikes place coffee. heaven.

and for a total of $21.95, i have the makings of a beautifully decorated bookshelf.

I placed some of my favorite cookbooks I own up there, stacked laying down. I like this look better than placing them upright! And then, you remember that fabulous candle from anthropologie? Well, I burned the tar out of it and need another. But I adore adore adore the blue glass. Its one of my favorite colors. So to add a bit of color, I placed all my sharpies that I use in the kitchen inside the empty candle jar. I aim to buy and collect LOTS more of these jars!

So what do you think? Long way to go but I will NOT clutter these shelves up again with junk.

i might run around my condo building in sheer giddy excitement.

4 responses

  1. Excuse me miss fabulous. I LOVE it! My question is where did you get that amazing bookshelf?! Thomas adores Shakespeare and that would look killer in my guess room!

    November 2, 2010 at 2:33 PM

    • ikea darling! they have it in green and black too!!!

      November 2, 2010 at 2:48 PM

  2. that fan is AWESOME!!

    November 2, 2010 at 3:31 PM

  3. mom

    you are so adorable as you share the RS pages…i am right there with you love love this rag

    thrift queen is a proper title for nana among many other accolades

    i am a fan of your fan

    take that green of your pinky

    love you this whole life

    November 8, 2010 at 4:57 PM

Leave a comment