for moms who are more.

wednesday: design, homemade jewelry box

not sure how I came up with the idea, but I was brainstorming Christmas gift ideas and decided I was going to get my niece miss K a real necklace..a real piece of jewelry. She’s 6 years old now and I remember how special I thought it was at that age to get something of real value.

I’ve ordered her a pendant necklace from The Vintage Pearl…it has her initial on it and its sterling silver. I cant wait to get it in the mail!

Then like I always do when I simply buy something for someone, I think…”wow, how much more would I appreciate giving a gift to someone if I’d sacrificed my time and my efforts and talents or LACK of talent, to make that gift?”

And then it came to me. I’m going to make her a jewelry box. Out of an old book. A beautiful vintage jewelry box that I make myself, where she can keep said necklace.

Ingredients:

old book. I’ll be enlisting ben’s help to hollow out the inside of the book with a box cutter of sorts, leaving about an inch of book pages around the edges to form the wall of the box.

pretty pink fabric for the cushiony bottom of the box. I’m going to sew some cotton balls and good smelly stuff inside of the fabric.

razzle dazzle. i’ll be decorating the outside of the book with these beauties. every little girl loves rhinestones!

paint and glue. i’ll be painting the outside edges of the pages all the way around the book, in order to keep them stuck together. (a little emerald green and gold shall do the trick!) I’m also gluing the bottom pages to the back of the book so everything stays in place.

 

 

This weekend is my last weekend to get my crud together for christmas. It never fails…every year…something drastic happens to us financially around the holidays and we’re stuck waiting until the last second to get things done. Anyone else out there pining away for the day when they arent scared to fill up their gas tank for fear of draining their bank account? Such is our life right now. Ben’s still looking for a full time job and helping me out, and thats where life is right now…it just is. Christmas isnt about gift-giving though, remember? I did write a blog post about that. Guess I should down some spoonfuls of my own medicine.

I’ll let you all know how the jewelry box turns out. I cant wait to put it all together! Tomorrow we are back to our regularly scheduled programming, with Thursday’s LLP post! stay tuned!

2 responses

  1. when ryan proposed to me, he’d hidden the ring in a hollowed-out leather journal. it was so so cool. of course i still have it, and i love seeing it on the shelf and thinking back to how i felt when i opened it up and saw that shiny sucker in there. šŸ™‚ i may have to steal your niece gift idea…that is awesome! and i LOVE The Vintage Pearl.

    December 15, 2010 at 9:46 PM

  2. What an awesome idea. And I totally get the bit about being scared to fill up the gas tank. It will get better {I keep reminding myself}.

    December 17, 2010 at 11:23 AM

Leave a Reply

